Impossible Whopper Sparks Further Cross-Contamination Debate
Burger King’s Impossible Whopper, rolled out across the US this week, has sparked debate over cross contamination, as the plant-based patty is broiled on the same grill as meat.
The burger — a collaboration between the fast-food giant and meat-alternative brand Impossible Foods — has become the center of what is an ongoing debate among meat-free eaters.
“Impossible Burger not so impossible,” one Facebook user wrote.
“It is prepared assembled with real beef burgers. This is cross contamination NO vegetarian will accept.”
Another wrote that contact with meat would render the burger “no longer vegan.”
PETA campaign director Ashley Byrne, however, appears to feel differently.
“People are choosing vegan options because they care about animals and the environment,” she said.
“We think that these benefits really override any concerns about cross-contamination — obviously if someone has an allergy or intolerance, that’s different.”
All of this said, consumers who fall into the category of concern can request that their burger be cooked separately.
Despite the fact that the Whopper can be cooked separately, the vegan status of the Impossible Burger itself has been called into question.
The general consensus among vegans is that, while the burger is plant based, it can’t be called vegan due to animal testing which occurred in the early stages of its development.
Is cross contamination a point of concern for you? Do you think the Impossible Burger is vegan? Share your thoughts in the comments below!
Tags: Burger Kind, Cross Contamination, impossible burger, Impossible Foods, Impossible Whopper, meat, Meat Alternative, plant based, vegan